Best Non-fiction of the Year!

It’s time for the Best and Worst of 2022. This time I’m going to start with an easy one, non-fiction, since I didn’t read as much non-fiction this year as I have in the past, so it was a lot easier to just pull up my 5 star reads. The first 2 were on my TBR list for years (true story) and I’m glad they delivered.

  1. The River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt’s Darkest Journey by Candice Millard. I have raved about this book in the past, but here I admit to my mom’s spirit that she was right about this book. It was gripping from start to finish. If you’re going to take away one book from this list, let it be this one.
  2. At the Water’s Edge: Fish with Fingers, Whales with Legs, and How Life Came Ashore But then Went Back to Sea by Carl Zimmer. I love to read a good science book, and this delivered. Fascinating look at early animal evolution with lots of information I’d never read before.
  3. On Juneteenth by Annette Gordon Reed. I admit I didn’t know much about Juneteenth until this year, and what I learned was largely thanks to this book. But more than straight history, it’s also about the cultural and social significance of this holiday. Very short read, but packed with punch.
  4. An Early Resurrection: Life in Christ before You Die by Adam S. Miller. All about living in the present, every single moment, as though this is all the time you have to make a difference. So much good stuff in here.

And those were all my 5 star non-fiction books of the year! I have several 4 star books, but rather than try and sort through them and pick one more, I’ll leave you with these 4 brilliant books. Hope you had a rewarding reading year too. Let me know in the comments and happy reading!

Leave a comment