Fall Movies

Now that summer is over, the movie season has calmed down a little bit. But soon the holiday movies will hit. Time to see what movies based on books are coming out.

The big one right now isn’t based on a new book – it’s a remake of Stephen King’s classic horror It. I’m not a big horror movie buff, but I have seen a few of his movies. It’s got solid ratings, but I don’t think I’ll be seeing this one.

American Assassin is based on the series by Vince Flynn. It features counterterrorism agent Mitch Flynn. Otherwise, I don’t know much about this one, but it sounds interesting. I like Michael Keaton, so it could be good.

This month’s Rebel in the Rye is, as you might guess from the title, about the author J D Salinger. Again I am uninformed! I haven’t ever read anything by him, but his novel The Catcher in the Rye is a famous one. The movie is about his struggle as a young writer and his experiences in the war. It looks really good. Maybe I’ll actually read this book after all!

If you’re into tennis, Battle of the Sexes is about the famous match between Billie Jean King and Bobby Riggs. It’s not, as far as I know, based on a book (although there are books about the match) but on real life. However, there is an autobiography of King. Given today’s political climate, the movie is as topical as it gets and I’m really excited to see it. This one is great for discussing the issues of feminism, LGBT rights, and equal pay. The casting is great and it’s a must see.

These are all September movies. I’ll have part two, October movies, next week.

 

Leave a Reply

