Review: Invinciman

Title: Invinciman

Author: Ricky Leone

Note: This review was requested by the author, but the opinions expressed are my own.

Setting: near future Canada

Format: ebook

Engineer Ray Martin has this one friend. You know the kind, the one that gets you into trouble, but then gets you back out again? Except that this friends gets him into the kind of trouble that’s going to get him killed; and he may not get him out of trouble ever again.

Ray and Daniel are both engineering students when they meet. Their skills complement each other, and they wind up teaming up to get their projects done. Only trouble is that Ray want to graduate and get the job and Daniel? Well, Ray can’t tell what he wants.

His friendship with Daniel, if that’s what it is, is told in flashback. The story actually opens with Ray being shot in the head and left for dead. And that’s really where I had trouble with the book. The story, and the complicated relationship between the two guys, was really interesting. They want to make robots – excuse me, a “super advanced artificial intelligence robot,” which will fight in an arena like Robot Wars on TV today. Except bigger and badder and more awesome. I absolutely can’t argue with that. It’s the terrorist angle which had me scratching my head. I was excited for the rivalry and the robot fights. And while I knew this was a superhero book, it never felt like the two halves of the story worked together as well as they should have. By the time I got to the ending, I was quite confused.

I’m not sure who I would recommend this one for. I see that it got good recommendations from most other readers, so it might just be me being picky. I would be willing to give this author another try though. I’d like to see some female characters and more diversity too. Thanks for the chance to read this one.

 

Leave a Reply

