Throwback Thursday

Today I thought it would be fun to do a throwback to an earlier year and do a list of things about that year. I asked one of my kids to pick a number between 1 & 47  and she picked 33. That

100_3315
Taken near Soldier Hollow

 

‘s the year 2002, so in the year 2002 here are a few things about me and what I was reading!

  1. That was the year of the Salt Lake Olympics!! My family as a group did not have tickets to any of the events, but my daughter did get to go with her class to the Biathlon at Soldier’s Hollow. She saw the Cross-Country Skiing. She mainly remembers it being so cold and the skiers moving too fast to see!
  2. OK, that fact wasn’t really about me, but this one is – Provo had a town Olympic Fair and we went to that. We got to go inside an ice castle and sit in an ice throne. We also got up REALLY early to see the Olympic Torch go by. My kids barely remember that, but again, remember it being super cold and being dressed up in so many layers they could hardly move.
  3. In honor of the Olympics, here are a few books I can recommend – Going for the Gold by Emma Lathen, also about the Winter Olympics, this time set at Lake Placid, a fictional mystery, featuring a banker whose firm  has invested heavily in the event. Also The Boys in the Boat, about a group of working class boys who competed against rich kids and made it to the Olympics in Berlin. And finally, Unbroken, a biography of Louis Zamperini whose Olympic training made it possible for him to survive in a Japanese war camp during WWII. Those two are both non-fiction.
  4. Besides the Olympics, I was a busy mom with three little kids at home, aged 10, 8, and 5. And what did we love? HARRY POTTER. Harry was everything at our house. We had HP birthday parties, Halloween, we read the books aloud, read them to ourselves, played with the trading cards, the kids played them at recess, we got the Legos, we were obsessed. (Unlike now, of course. Who am I kidding? We’re still obsessed.)
  5. LOTR – That was the other book I was reading that year. I watched the movie The Fellowship of the Ring with my husband at the theater – which was a big deal, because I think we got a sitter and that was still pretty rare – and then I went home and borrowed his copy of the book. I loved the world Tolkien set up in LOTR, and I admire so much his ability to create characters, language, myths, gods, everything you need to really create a living world. He was extraordinary. Yes, he could have put a few more women in there and given more equal roles to the ones he did have, but he accomplished an amazing thing.
  6. Also this year, my husband had been laid off, so I was working one regular job and trying to sell books online and do mystery shopping. I was always tired. It is not my favorite time of life to look back on. But I was busy with a website, Bookcrossing.com. It’s a site designed to let you identify books with an ID number, release them in a public place, and then track where they wind up. But you can also trade them, and kind people send us books for my son’s birthday that year. He got Hardy Boys books, Thomas the Tank Engine, and some How Things Work books, all designed for a busy boy like him.

That’s my post for today and I’m tagging Flavia at Flavia the Bibliophile, Sarah at TheCritiquingChemist, and Jeyran at Review Tales. Pick your own year and tell us what you were doing and what you were reading. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

