Review: Skinwalker

Title: Skinwalker (Jane Yellowrock #1)

Author: Faith Hunter

Recommended by: My sister

Format: Audio

Genre: urban fantasy, paranormal romance

Jane makes a living as a vamp killer, but this is her first trip to New Orleans, and the culture there is well, different. Vampires are a major tourist attraction. The vamps have even banded together and set up houses. Some of them are ‘sane’ and accepted as members of society. But one has gone rogue and taken to killing – and eating – the tourists. And that’s not cool.

It’s Jane’s job to hunt this rogue down and kill him, and she’s got 10 days if she wants the bonus. (She does.) Lucky for her, she’s got a secret weapon – her Beast partner. Jane is a Skinwalker, thanks to her Cherokee heritage, and she can shift form into an animal. But this hunt is going to be her toughest yet.

I really wanted to like this book. I got it on audio on my sister’s recommendation. But I’m afraid I didn’t like it nearly as much as she did. I found Jane a little too cocky, her Beast form irritating, and I was put off by the amount of sexual undercurrent that ran throughout the whole book. In fact, I don’t think there was a single person who wasn’t discussed as a possible romantic/sexual partner for Jane. Like, take a cold shower already!

I liked the basic idea, but nothing about the book stood out in any good way. I was hoping I’d love it, since it’s the beginning of a long series, but it sounds like they’re all basically like this one. So, if I don’t like Skinwalker, I’m not going to like the rest. I feel like I’ve been on a losing streak lately – too many disappointments in a row. I’m not really enjoying any of the other books I’m reading right now either. Maybe I’m having an off week. Anyhow, I can’t recommend this one. But I’m didn’t hate it either. 2.5 stars out of 5, nice and average.

Leave a Reply

