Review: Anne of Green Gables

Title: Anne of Green Gables (Avonlea #1)

Author: L. M. Montgomery

Themes: challenges, family, coming of age, friendship, religion

Setting: Prince Edward Island, Canada early 1900s

Plot: Anne Shirley is not the boy the Cuthberts were expecting from the orphanage, but she was just what they needed to turn their lives upside down.

Review: I read this classic when I was a little girl and I was charmed. I think Anne would have been my “bosom friend.” I had the same vivid imagination, but I wasn’t as outgoing and talkative as Anne was. I definitely wasn’t as sweet as Diana Barry either.

Even when I was young, Anne Shirley’s story was about a different, gentler, slower way of life. To a child of the 21st century, I can’t imagine what they would make of this book. I hope there’s still room for the lively red-haired orphan. She’s a sweet little thing.

 

Leave a Reply

