Book Review: Steelheart

I’ve been on a Brandon Sanderson binge lately. I got this bundle through Humble Bundle lately, and part of the proceeds go to charity. But then I didn’t have enough storage on my Kindle for all my lovely new books, so I’ve been frantically reading them all day today. I’m not called Speedy Reader for nothing! I got through several short stories today alone. But I also have a review on Steelheart.

Title: Steelheart, Book 1 of Reckoners series

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Genre: Superhero sci-fi, near future

Found it: Favorite author

Format: Physical book

Synopsis: “Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics. But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his will.

Nobody fights the Epics…nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.

And David wants in. He wants Steelheart — the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David’s father. For years, like the Reckoners, David’s been studying, and planning — and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience.

He’s seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge.”

David is this nerdy guy who wants to take down the Epics – the Superheroes. But I have to say that the character he reminds of the most is Spiderman. See, David/Spidey has secret knowledge/spider senses and that gives him an edge over the city bad guys. The twist here is that the bad guys are the Supers, and David is just a nerdy guy. Instead of spider senses, he has detailed dossiers of information on every Epic known, their strengths, their allies, their habits, their weaknesses. And despite what you might think, they all have a weakness.

David hasn’t shared his information with anyone, because the cops are all working for the Epics. Average people are just trying to keep their heads down and not attract attention. The only ones willing to stand up to the Epics is the Reckoners. So David’s job is to join them and then convince them to go after the biggest target of all – Steelheart.

I really liked this series. It’s written for teens, but it’s a very complex world. I followed it up with the short story Mitosis, which is 1.5 in the series, between this one and Firefight. I loved the worldbuilding in here. Sanderson is great at that, always, he just really thinks the world through before he writes anything. I’m anxious to see what happens next. So anxious, in fact, that I went back on my promise to stay out of the library until I read some of my own books and got the next book in the series. If you like superhero stuff or dystopian books, I’d definitely recommend this one.

Leave a Reply

