Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

shamrockHappy St. Paddy’s Day! I’m not Irish, even a little bit, but today is a great day to celebrate the contribution of the Irish to literature. In honor of the saint, here’s my list of 7 Great Irish Writers. (List is by no means comprehensive, just a few I wanted to mention.)

7 Great Irish Writers

  1. Oscar Wilde – honestly, can you mention Irish writers without mentioning him? I doubt it. Start with The Importance of Being Earnest, a play that makes his claims to brilliance justified.
  2. Bram Stoker – Dracula is one of the most iconic figures in all literature and film, and we owe it all to this guy.
  3. C. S. Lewis – Honestly, I’m not a big fan of Narnia. But I *LOVE, LOVE, LOVE* The Screwtape Letters. Like, so much. So just read that one.
  4. Eoin Colfer – Have you read Artemis Fowl? IMO the series declines a bit, but the first one is wildly imaginative and funny.
  5. Samuel Beckett – Have you read Waiting for Godot? Even better, have you seen it? So funny, and yet so much more than funny. It’s full of meaning too.
  6. Emma Donoghue – Famous for the searing Room. She has a new one out too, but I haven’t read it yet.
  7. Eugene O’Neill – As an Irish-American, I still think he belongs on this list. A Long Day’s Journey Into Night is my favorite of his works.

A lot of plays on here, I notice. Perhaps the Irish tradition calls for theater? I know there are also a lot of Irish poets, but I’m afraid I’m not really into poetry. I’m more of a genre reader. Anyhow, Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a Reply

