Book Review: Captain America

Title: Captain America, The First Avenger

Author: Alex Irvine

Genre: Movie novelization, superhero, WWII, YA,

Format: Audiobook

Found it: Browsing library’s audio titles

I haven’t been reading as much this year as last year. Partly it’s because I’m busy with sewing, but partly it’s because I’ve been kind of (really) depressed lately and books take too much concentration. But audiobooks are still a good way to read without actually reading. I found this one browsing my library’s digital audio books.

Have you seen the movie? If you’ve seen the movie, you’ve read the book. It doesn’t add anything new to the story. In fact, it takes some things away. The book is strictly written from Cap’s POV, so anything about the Red Skull or Peggy is not in the book. Even then, it leaves a few scenes out.

I didn’t love it, but it was perfectly fine to listen to while I was sewing. Also recommended for reluctant or beginning readers, including adults with emerging literacy, who are fans of Marvel. Most other readers are going to find the book as flat as Steve Rogers’ shield. 2.4 stars

**************

In other news, I’m working on my book again. I didn’t hit 50k words during NaNoWriMo 2016, but I was really close. I’m writing a thriller and I was almost at the conclusion. But by then, all the problems I ignored earlier were making it hard to push through and just finish the damn thing. But after letting it sit and thinking things over and over and over in my head, I think I’m ready to finish the rough – and I mean rough – draft.

I hate leaving things messy, so I am always tempted to rewrite before I start something new. I resisted doing that this time, and when I found a big error that was making problems, I would put a note in brackets and just keep going. So even if this is close to being done, it’s nowhere near ready for someone else to read. My goal, then, is to have a readable first draft by the end of the year. At that time, I’ll be asking for beta readers.

If you’d like to be on that list, be sure to follow my blog so you are notified when I’m asking for readers. It’s a thriller about a woman who gets kidnapped on her way home from work, but survives when someone murders her kidnapper before he has a chance to kill her. Now she has to find the killer in case she’s the next name on his list. My MC is a POC, so I’m especially looking for POC, but anyone who likes this genre would be eligible to win a chance to read.

Thanks everyone, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

