Book Review: Dictatorship of the Dress

dress Title: Dictatorship of the Dress: A Much ‘I Do’ About Nothing Novel

Author: Jessica Topper

Genre: contemporary romance

Setting: airports, mostly, also Las Vegas and Hawaii, modern day

Themes: taking chances, family ties

Where I heard of it: Goodreads

 

 

Laney is a graphic artist. Noah is an app developer. The two meet at an airport when both are on their way to a wedding. For Laney, it’s her mother’s, and she’s bringing the dress. For Noah, it’s his wedding, but he’s actually heading to Vegas for the bachelor party. At first, they can’t help noticing all the many flaws in each other. They plan to ignore one another, but wind up stuck in each other’s company in first class  on the flight, and then a giant storm hits and their connecting flights are cancelled. The more time they spend together, the better they get to know each other, and they more they are attracted

Pros: I liked Noah. He was not your average romance novel leading man. I liked that he was brainy, rather than macho. His friends were fun as well, but I had reservations. (see below) I also liked the resolution.

Cons: There was more profanity that I expected. Noah’s friends were loyal and crazy, but they were also crude, bordering on offensive. Yeah, I get that it’s a bachelor party, but still, it was not what I was expecting at all. It really turned me off.

Neutral: I wasn’t crazy about Laney. I started out liking her, but as I found out more about her previous relationship with the rocker, I sort of lost interest.

Overall Rating: 2.75

 

Leave a Reply

