Planning a Road Trip!

What’s the most important part of a successful road trip? You might say lodging, but you could always sleep in your car. You might say snacks, and I admit, snacks are pretty crucial. But they’re also easy to find, and no matter what you pack, you know you’re gonna buy more. No, the MOST IMPORTANT part of a road trip is something to listen to.

It never fails, you’re driving rural utahalong, and then you get too far away from a town, and you suddenly are out of range of all radio stations. And you would listen to your iPod or your phone, but that would drain the battery. Yo
u sure can’t depend on buying something decent to listen to when you’re on the road, so you better plan ahead.

I live in the Rocky Mountains, so we have lots of wide open space. I am taking advantage of that this week, before the snow falls, and heading out of town. I stopped by my library to get some actual CD’s for my truck, because it’s old, and I am all set.

Here’s what I’m taking:

Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale

Death Comes to Pemberly by P D James

Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson

Eric by Terry Pratchett

You may have noticed a distinct romance theme to this list. It wasn’t really intentional, I gotta say. My choice was limited to what was in the library right now and because I wanted books I was pretty darn sure I would enjoy. I will admit that Eric is a reread, but it’s been a few years and I wanted something in there besides romance. I was hoping to include some YA books, but those are always checked out. I am also bringing my Kindle, my phone, and some physical books which I may Bookcross along the way.

Also, wondering if anyone is enjoying the writing prompts I’ve started. I’m planning a new book, a paranormal thriller, so I think that most of them will be from that WIP for now. See you folks when I get back!

Currently reading: The Whispering Skull by Jonathan Stroud

 

Leave a Reply

