Missing Mom

100_1868

This week is one year since my mom passed away. I don’t really plan on posting a lot of personal stuff, but she was a huge part of my life and I’m really struggling right now. My mom wasn’t perfect, but she loved me with all her heart. It’s been an eventful  year, with my kids having health challenges, my son going on a mission and coming home with more health problems, me taking charge of my health, and now my son getting engaged. Her absence is deeply felt. I keep wanting to call her and share my news, get some sympathy, some advice, share a laugh. I keep waiting for her to drop by with the latest odd item she found at the store and had to get because she just knew I would like it.

This week I’ve been stuck in bed. I’ve been reading a lot, but I don’t feel much like blogging about it. I would just take a little break, but I think it’s better to be open and honest about it. Our culture doesn’t always talk about grief and loss. I’m always willing to talk, and I hope that by being willing to share what I’ve been through, someone else will feel less alone.

So enjoy your own reading, keep posting, and I’ll be back as soon as I’m able. In the meantime, hug the people you love. You will miss them, even the stuff that drives you crazy, so much more than you can imagine when they are gone.

Leave a Reply

